RepositoryLambeth Palace Library
Alt Ref NoW.Temple 51, ff. 183-391
TitleWAR 1939-45
Date3 July 1940-31 Dec 1942
DescriptionPapers relating to the recruitment and supervision of chaplains to the Armed Services, including correspondence from: Captain Henry David Reginald Margesson, Secretary of State for War (f. 186); Sir Ronald Forbes Adam, Adjutant-General to the Forces (ff. 190, 265); William Cosmo Gordon Lang, Archbishop of Canterbury (ff. 194-5); Geoffrey Francis Fisher, Bishop of London (ff. 197, 230, 249, 373); Richard Edward Parsons, Canon of York (ff. 199, 208, 220, 237-8); Charles Earle Raven, Master of Christ's College, Cambridge (ff. 206-7); Ernest Barker (ff. 213-14, 388); Henry Townsend Vodden, Suffragan Bishop of Hull (f. 216); Air Marshal Sir Philip Babington (ff. 217, 219); Maurice Henry Edwards, Chaplain-in-Chief to the Royal Air Force (passim); Martin Kiddle, Vicar of Christ Church, Harrogate (ff. 221-3); Sir William Arthington Worsley (ff. 224, 233); Geoffrey Charles Lester Lunt, Bishop of Ripon (ff. 234-5); John Macleod Campbell, Secretary of the Church Assembly Missionary Council (ff. 239, 244-8); Cyril Forster Garbett, Archbishop of York (ff. 241, 279, 282); Charles Vane-Tempest-Stewart, 7th Marquess of Londonderry (ff. 252-3, 258); Richard Godfrey Parsons, Bishop of Hereford (f. 259); Llewellyn Henry Gwynne, Bishop in Egypt and the Sudan (ff. 260, 297-301); Henry Thomas Alexander Dashwood, Principal Registrar of the Province of Canterbury (ff. 263, 305); Leslie Owen, Suffragan Bishop of Jarrow (ff. 264, 270, 328-9, 337, 378); Charles Douglas Symons, Chaplain-General to the Forces (ff. 267, 283, 344, 386); William Derrick Lindsay Greer, General Secretary of the Student Christian Movement of Great Britain (f. 273); Thomas Crick, Chaplain of the Fleet (ff. 286-7, 327); Michael Bolton Furse, Bishop of St. Albans (ff. 290-3); Sir John Cronyn Tovey (f. 302); Sir Frederick Carl Bovenschen, Joint Permanent Under-Secretary of State for War (ff. 303, 309, 340); Campbell Richard Hone, Bishop of Wakefield (f. 311); General Bernard Law Montgomery (ff. 313-14); David Colin Dunlop, Provost of St. Mary's Cathedral, Edinburgh (f. 353); Ernest Denny Logie Danson, Bishop of Edinburgh (f. 354); Thomas Grigg-Smith (f. 355); Bishop Neville Stuart Talbot (ff. 356, 381); Frank Hay Gillingham, Hon. Canon of Southwark (ff. 357, 374); Herbert Arthur Jones, Provost of Leicester (f. 358); Guy Vernon Smith, Bishop of Leicester (ff. 359, 371); Sidney Ernest Swann, Hon. Canon of Bristol (ff. 360, 367); John Charles Mann, Assistant Bishop and Hon. Canon in the Diocese of Rochester (f. 361); and Harold Evelyn Hubbard, Suffragan Bishop of Whitby (f. 362). Also includes a 1942 Christmas letter to Anglican chaplains, signed jointly by Archbishop Temple and Cyril Forster Garbett, Archbishop of York (f. 387).
PublnNoteWilliam Temple Papers vol. 51, ff. 289, 341, 365-6, used in Michael Snape, 'The Royal Army Chaplains' Department 1796-1953: clergy under fire', Studies in Modern British Religious History, 18 (The Boydell Press, 2008) [Lambeth Palace Library G4375.S6]

Show related Persons records.

Related name records
GB/109/14402Margesson; Henry David Reginald (1890-1965); 1st Viscount Margesson; captain1890-1965
14Lang; William Cosmo Gordon (1864-1945); Archbishop of Canterbury1864-1945
12Fisher; Geoffrey Francis (1887-1972); Archbishop of Canterbury1887-1972
503Raven; Charles Earle (1885-1964); Regius Professor of Divinity, Cambridge1885-1964
DS/UK/5997Vodden; Henry Townsend (1887-1960); bishop of Hull1887-1960
GB/109/14407Babington; Sir; Philip (1894-1965); Air Marshal1894-1965
GB/109/13828Edwards; Maurice Henry (1886-1961); Chaplain-in-Chief to the R.A.F.1886-1961
DS/UK/5746Lunt; Geoffrey Charles Lester (-1948); Bishop of Salisbury-1948
DS/UK/3642Campbell; John Macleod (fl. 1937-1961); secretary of the Church Assembly Missionary Councilfl. 1937-1961
78Garbett; Cyril Forster (1875-1955); Archbishop of York1875-1955
GB/109/14410Stewart; Charles Stewart Henry Vane-Tempest- (1878-1949); 7th Marquess of Londonderry1878-1949
482Parsons; Richard Godfrey (1882-1948); Bishop of Hereford1882-1948
DS/UK/3273Gwynne; Llewellyn Henry (1863-1957); Bishop in Egypt1863-1957
308Dashwood; Sir; Henry Thomas Alexander (1878-1959); Knight; Principal Registrar of the Province of Canterbury1878-1959
DS/UK/5803Owen; Leslie (1886-1947); Bishop of Lincoln1886-1947
GB/109/13826Symons; Charles Douglas (1885-1949); Chaplain-General to the Forces1885-1949
DS/UK/3925Greer; William Derrick Lindsay (1902-1972); Bishop of Manchester1902-1972
GB/109/14252Crick; Thomas (1885-1970); Chaplain of the Fleet1885-1970
101Furse; Michael Bolton (1870-1955); Bishop of St. Albans1870-1955
GB/109/13684Tovey; John Cronyn (1885-1971); Baron Tovey; Admiral of the Fleet1885-1971
GB/109/13824Bovenschen; Sir; Frederick Carl (-1977); statesman-1977
DS/UK/5793Hone; Campbell Richard (-1967); Bishop of Wakefield-1967
DS/UK/5760Montgomery; Bernard Law (1887-1976); 1st Viscount Montgomery; Field Marshal1887-1976
DS/UK/3775Dunlop; David Colin (1897-1968); dean of Lincoln1897-1968
DS/UK/3740Danson; Ernest Denny Logie (1880-1946); bishop of Edinburgh1880-1946
GB/109/13807Smith; Thomas Grigg- (-1971); Canon of Portsmouth-1971
DS/UK/6110Jones; Herbert Arthur (-1969); Dean of Manchester-1969
DS/UK/5433Smith; Guy Vernon (1880-1957); Bishop of Leicester1880-1957
DS/UK/5355Talbot; Neville Stuart (1879-1943); Bishop of Pretoria1879-1943
GB/109/14415Gillingham; Frank Hay (1875-1953); Hon. Canon of Southwark1875-1953
GB/109/14416Swann; Sidney Ernest (1890-1976); Hon. Canon of Bristol1890-1976
DS/UK/5216Mann; John Charles (1880-1967); Assistant Bishop of Rochester1880-1967
DS/UK/5794Hubbard; Harold Evelyn (1883-1953); Suffragan Bishop of Whitby1883-1953
GB/109/14533Parsons; Richard Edward (1888-1971); Canon of York Minster1888-1971
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2022