RepositoryLambeth Palace Library
Alt Ref NoW.Temple 29
Extent398 ff.
Date1 Nov 1943-13 June 1944
DescriptionPapers relating to a proposed scheme for church union in South India, including correspondence from: Edwin James Palmer, Assistant Bishop of Gloucester (passim), including a published copy of his pamphlet 'South India: The Meaning of the Scheme for Church Union' (ff. 236-53); John Russell Darbyshire, Archbishop of Cape Town (ff. 11-14, 92-3); Archbishop Temple (passim), including a published copy (ff. 218-21) and draft (ff. 222-33) of 'Problems of Unity', his address delivered in the Upper House of Convocation on 21 January 1944, and a printed copy of his reply as metropolitan of Canterbury to formal questions of the metropolitan of India (ff. 291-2); Stephen Frederick Burstal Bedale, Director-General of the Society of the Sacred Mission, along with heads of religious communities (ff. 21-31); Cyril Forster Garbett, Archbishop of York (ff. 33, 90, 123, 157, 182, 381); Norman Henry Tubbs, Assistant Bishop and Dean of Chester (f. 43); Geoffrey Francis Fisher, Bishop of London (ff. 61-2, 129, 172, 265, 271-2); Gregory Dix, Prior of Nashdom Abbey (ff. 68, 103, 122); George Kennedy Allen Bell, Bishop of Chichester (ff. 69, 126, 270); Leonard Hodgson, Canon of Christ Church, Oxford (ff. 76-7, 333-6); Oliver Chase Quick, Canon of Christ Church and Regius Professor of Divinity in the University of Oxford (ff. 81-2); James Hutchison Cockburn, Minister of Dunblane Cathedral (ff. 89, 116, 382, 394); Harry Bevir Vaisey (f. 91); Robert Cecil Mortimer (f. 95); David Herbert Somerset Cranage, Dean of Norwich (ff. 100, 127, 263-4, 365); Edward Sydney Woods, Bishop of Lichfield (f. 105); Kenneth Charles Harman Warner, Archdeacon of Lincoln (ff. 124, 132, 163, 322); Mervyn George Haigh, Bishop of Winchester (ff. 128, 173, 284-9); William Cosmo Gordon Lang, Baron Lang of Lambeth (f. 130); Francis de Witt Batty, Bishop of Newcastle, Australia (f. 134), enclosing a leaflet on intercommunion in Australia (ff. 135-8, another copy: ff. 337-40); Bishop Frederick James Western (ff. 156, 368, 390); Frederick Joseph John Shirley, Headmaster of the King's School, Canterbury (ff. 165-8); Kenneth Escott Kirk, Bishop of Oxford (ff. 174-8, 205, 207, 275-7); Gerald Webb Broomfield, Secretary of the Universities' Mission to Central Africa (f. 185), enclosing a published copy of his 'Constitutional Episcopacy' (ff. 186-99); James Edward Lesslie Newbigin, Church of Scotland Missionary (ff. 200-3); Sir Philip Baker Wilbraham (f. 216); Edmund Douglas Merritt, Rural Dean of St. Pancras (ff. 259, 261); Cyril Edward Hudson, Canon of St. Albans (f. 274); Eric Knightley Chetwode Hamilton, Suffragan Bishop of Shrewsbury (f. 299); Edgar William James Hellins, editor of the Canterbury Chronicle of Convocation (f. 301); John William Charles Wand, Bishop of Bath and Wells (ff. 302-4, 343); William Frederick Lofthouse (f. 306); Edward Gordon Selwyn, Dean of Winchester (f. 307); Roy Drummond Whitehorn, Moderator of the Free Church Federal Council (ff. 313-15); Henry Balmforth, Canon of Ely (ff. 323-7); the Church Union (f. 342); Foss Westcott, Bishop of Calcutta and Metropolitan of India, Burma and Ceylon (ff. 350-3, 358); Reginald Tribe, Director of the Society of the Sacred Mission (f. 360); Cecil Douglas Horsley, Bishop of Colombo (f. 362); Vedanayakam Samuel Azariah, Bishop of Dornakal (ff. 369, 391, 393); Raymond Richard Elliott Raynes, Father Superior of the Community of the Resurrection, Mirfield, Yorkshire (ff. 366-7); Henry Dewsbury Alves Major, Principal of Ripon Hall, Oxford (ff. 385-6); Arthur Henry Anstey, Bishop of Trinidad and Archbishop of the West Indies (f. 388); and Howard West Kilvinton Mowll, Archbishop of Sydney (f. 389).

Show related Persons records.

Related name records
DS/UK/3741Darbyshire; John Russell (1880-1948); Archbishop of Cape Town1880-1948
623Palmer; Edwin James (1869-1954); Bishop of Bombay1869-1954
GB/109/13822Bedale; Stephen Frederick Burstal (1888-1961); Director-General of the Society of the Sacred Mission1888-1961
78Garbett; Cyril Forster (1875-1955); Archbishop of York1875-1955
DS/UK/5496Tubbs; Norman Henry (1879-1965); Bishop of Rangoon1879-1965
12Fisher; Geoffrey Francis (1887-1972); Archbishop of Canterbury1887-1972
323Dix; Gregory (1901-1952); Dom Gregory, Prior of Nashdom Abbey1901-1952
135Bell; George Kennedy Allen (1883-1958); Bishop of Chichester1883-1958
DS/UK/4078Hodgson; Leonard (1889-1969); theologian1889-1969
NA2439Quick; Oliver Chase (1885-1944); clergyman and Professor of Divinity, University of Oxford1885-1944
574Vaisey; Sir; Harry Bevir (1877-1965); Knight; Judge1877-1965
460Mortimer; Robert Cecil (1902-1976); Bishop of Exeter1902-1976
307Cranage; David Herbert Somerset (1866-1957); Dean of Norwich1866-1957
DS/UK/5564Woods; Edward Sydney (1877-1953); Bishop of Lichfield1877-1953
DS/UK/6006Warner; Kenneth Charles Harman (1891-1983); bishop of Edinburgh1891-1983
89Haigh; Mervyn George (1887-1962); Bishop of Winchester1887-1962
14Lang; William Cosmo Gordon (1864-1945); Archbishop of Canterbury1864-1945
DS/UK/3563Batty; Francis de Witt (1879-1961); Bishop of Newcastle, Australia1879-1961
593Western; Frederick James (1880-1951); Bishop of Tinnevelly1880-1951
DS/UK/5386Shirley; Frederick Joseph John (1890-1967); Headmaster1890-1967
DS/UK/3497Kirk; Kenneth Escott (1886-1954); Bishop of Oxford1886-1954
598Wilbraham; Sir; Philip Wilbraham Baker (1875-1957); 6th Baronet1875-1957
DS/UK/5444Newbigin; James Edward Lesslie (1909-1998); Bishop in Madras1909-1998
DS/UK/3616Broomfield; Gerald Webb (fl. 1943-1962); secretary to the U.M.C.A.fl. 1943-1962
GB/109/14032Hudson; Cyril Edward (1888-1960); Canon of St. Albans1888-1960
DS/UK/3962Hamilton; Eric Knightley Chetwode (1890-1962); dean of Windsor; suffragan bishop of Shrewsbury1890-1962
GB/109/13672Hellins; Edgar William James (1872-1946); Canon of Salisbury1872-1946
581Wand; John William Charles (1885-1977); Bishop of London1885-1977
NA2442Selwyn; Edward Gordon (1885-1959); Dean of Winchester1885-1959
158Church Union; 1934-1934-
DS/UK/5571Westcott; Foss (1863-1949); Bishop of Calcutta1863-1949
DS/UK/4092Horsley; Cecil Douglas (1903-1953); bishop of Gibraltar1903-1953
239Azariah; Vedanayakam Samuel (1874-1945); Bishop of Dornakal1874-1945
DS/UK/6515Major; Henry Dewsbury Alves (1871-1961); Principal of Ripon Hall Oxford1871-1961
DS/UK/5577Anstey; Arthur Henry (-1955); Bishop of Trinidad-1955
DS/UK/4567Mowll; Howard West Kilvinton (1890-1958); archbishop of Sydney1890-1958
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2022