RepositoryLambeth Palace Library
Alt Ref NoW.Temple 17, ff. 1-87
Date23 Oct 1942-20 June 1944
DescriptionPapers relating to the reorganisation of the Council, including correspondence on the appointment of new members, the establishment of 'assessors' as a new class of membership, the function of the Council, possible successors to Canon John Albert Douglas as Secretary, and a list of Council members and assessors as of 9 July 1943 (ff. 23-5). Correspondents include: Arthur Cayley Headlam, Bishop of Gloucester and Chairman of the Council (ff. 8, 26-7, 39-41, 45, 58, 74-5); Douglas (passim), including the text of a speech by Germanos Strenopoulos, Archbishop of Thyateira (ff. 37-8), notes on his successor (ff. 67-9), and a memorandum on the Council's finances (ff. 71-3); John Macleod Campbell, Secretary of the Church Assembly Missionary Council (f. 9); Ivor Bulmer Thomas (f. 10); John Sankey, 1st Viscount Sankey (f. 11); John Robert Jermain Macnamara (f. 12); Archbishop Temple (passim); John Victor Perowne, of the Foreign Office (ff. 46, 48); Austin Oakley (f. 63); David Colin Dunlop, Suffragan Bishop of Jarrow (f. 65); Gerald Burton Allen, Suffragan Bishop of Dorchester (f. 66); Bishop Paul Fulcrand Delacour de Labilliere, Dean of Westminster (f. 77); Arthur Stuart Duncan-Jones, Dean of Chichester (ff. 81, 84); and Sir Philip Francis Cunningham Williams, 2nd Baronet (ff. 85-6).

Show related Persons records.

Related name records
NA3026Church of England; Council on Foreign Relations; 1933-19821933-1982
326Douglas; John Albert (1868-1956); Hon. Gen. Secretary of the Church of England Council on Foreign Relations1868-1956
374Headlam; Arthur Cayley (1862-1947); Bishop of Gloucester1862-1947
DS/UK/3642Campbell; John Macleod (fl. 1937-1961); secretary of the Church Assembly Missionary Councilfl. 1937-1961
GB/109/8134Thomas; Ivor Bulmer (1905-1993); journalist and politician1905-1993
522Sankey; John (1866-1948); 1st Viscount Sankey1866-1948
DS/UK/3900Strenopoulos; Germanos (1872-1951); Archibishop of Thyateira1872-1951
GB/109/13917Oakley; Austin (1890-1977); President of the Anglican and Eastern Orthodox Churches Association1890-1977
DS/UK/3775Dunlop; David Colin (1897-1968); dean of Lincoln1897-1968
DS/UK/3530Allen; Gerald Burton (1885-1956); Suffragan bishop of Dorchester1885-1956
GB/109/9503de Labilliere; Paul Fulcrand Delacour (1879-1946); Dean of Westminster1879-1946
DS/UK/6196Duncan-Jones; Arthur Stuart (1879-1955); Dean of Chichester1879-1955
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2022