RepositoryLambeth Palace Library
Alt Ref NoW.Temple 11, ff. 277-439
Date14 Jan 1943-26 Sep 1944
DescriptionPapers relating to the implementation of recommendations in the 1935 report of the Archbishops' Commission on Church and State. Correspondents include: Archbishop Temple (passim); Mervyn George Haigh, Bishop of Winchester (ff. 279, 297, 356, 395, 405, 420, 424); Cyril Frederick Twitchett, Hon. Secretary of the Financial Commission of the Church Assembly (f. 280); George Kennedy Allen Bell, Bishop of Chichester (passim); Philip Albert Inman, Chairman of the Financial Commission of the Church Assembly (ff. 284, 293-5); Edgar Algernon Robert Cecil, 1st Viscount Cecil (ff. 314, 317); Campbell Richard Hone, Bishop of Wakefield (ff. 318, 327-8, 402); Frank Russell Barry, Bishop of Southwell (ff. 319-21); Richard Godfrey Parsons, Bishop of Hereford (ff. 322-4, 437-8); Geoffrey Francis Fisher, Bishop of London (ff. 333, 354, 401, 417-19, 425); Cyril Forster Garbett, Archbishop of York (ff. 336, 358, 360, 366, 404); Anthony Bevir, private secretary to Prime Minister Winston Churchill (ff. 347-8); Winston Leonard Spencer Churchill, Prime Minister (f. 362); John Ralph Strickland Taylor, Bishop of Sodor and Man (ff. 378, 436); John William Charles Wand, Bishop of Bath and Wells (f. 416); Kenneth Escott Kirk, Bishop of Oxford (ff. 426-428a); Alwyn Terrell Petre Williams, Bishop of Durham (f. 429); Harold Edward Wynn, Bishop of Ely (f. 430); Alfred Edward John Rawlinson, Bishop of Derby (f. 431); William Louis Anderson, Bishop of Portsmouth (f. 432); Henry Herbert Williams, Bishop of Carlisle (f. 433); Joseph Wellington Hunkin, Bishop of Truro (f. 434); and Leslie Stannard Hunter, Bishop of Sheffield (f. 435).

Show related Persons records.

Related name records
89Haigh; Mervyn George (1887-1962); Bishop of Winchester1887-1962
573Twitchett; Cyril Frederick (1890-1950); Archdeacon of Liverpool1890-1950
135Bell; George Kennedy Allen (1883-1958); Bishop of Chichester1883-1958
GB/109/13867Inman; Philip (1892-1979); 1st Baron Inman; Church Commissioner1892-1979
DS/UK/5793Hone; Campbell Richard (-1967); Bishop of Wakefield-1967
DS/UK/3908Gascoyne-Cecil; Edgar Algernon Robert (1864-1958); 1st Viscount Cecil of Chelwood1864-1958
DS/UK/3561Barry; (Frank) Russell (1890-1976); bishop of Southwell1890-1976
482Parsons; Richard Godfrey (1882-1948); Bishop of Hereford1882-1948
12Fisher; Geoffrey Francis (1887-1972); Archbishop of Canterbury1887-1972
78Garbett; Cyril Forster (1875-1955); Archbishop of York1875-1955
DS/UK/5915Bevir; Sir; Anthony (1895-1977); Secretary to the Prime Minister1895-1977
DS/UK/3827Churchill; Sir; Winston Leonard Spencer (1874-1965); Knight; statesman and historian1874-1965
DS/UK/5713Taylor; John Ralph Strickland (-1961); bishop of Sodor and Man-1961
581Wand; John William Charles (1885-1977); Bishop of London1885-1977
DS/UK/3497Kirk; Kenneth Escott (1886-1954); Bishop of Oxford1886-1954
88Williams; Alwyn Terrell Petre (1888-1968); Bishop of Winchester1888-1968
DS/UK/5580Wynn; Harold Edward (1889-1956); Bishop of Ely1889-1956
DS/UK/3499Rawlinson; (Alfred Edward) John (1884-1960); Bishop of Derby1884-1960
DS/UK/4134Anderson; William Louis (1892-1972); Bishop of Salisbury1892-1972
DS/UK/5821Williams; Henry Herbert (-1961); Bishop of Carlisle-1961
387Hunkin; Joseph Wellington (1887-1950); Bishop of Truro1887-1950
388Hunter; Leslie Stannard (1890-1983); Bishop of Sheffield1890-1983
635Archbishops' Commissions on Church and State; 1914-19701914-1970
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2022