RepositoryLambeth Palace Library
Alt Ref NoRuncie/ACV
Extent178 files
TitleAnglican Communion visits
DescriptionSeries consists of correspondence, itineraries, photographs, speeches, statements, and briefing notes relating to Runcie's visits to various Anglican Communion Churches and Provinces.
ArrangementSub-series arranged chronologically by year
AdminHistoryThe Anglican Communion is an international association of autonomous churches consisting of the Church of England and national and regional Anglican churches ("provinces") in full communion with it. The Anglican Communion is served by four "Instruments of Communion": (1), the Archbishop of Canterbury, seen by the Anglican Communion of churches as their spiritual leader. He is primus inter pares, first among equals of the other Primates (Chief Archbishops, Presiding Bishops) of the various provinces; (2) the Lambeth Conference of bishops, since 1867 meeting roughly every 10 years; (3) the Anglican Consultative Council, formed by a resolution of the 1968 Lambeth Conference to facilitate the co-operative work of the churches of the Anglican Communion, exchange information between the Provinces and churches, and help to co-ordinate common action.; (4) Primates' Meetings, established in 1978 by Archbishop Donald Coggan as an opportunity for "leisurely thought, prayer and deep consultation".
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2022