RepositoryLambeth Palace Library
Alt Ref NoRamsey 269, ff. 58-85
TitleAdvisory Council for the Church's Ministry
DescriptionPapers relating to the Advisory Council for the Church's Ministry (ACCM), including: notes about numbers of ordinands and distribution among theological colleges (ff.58-59); letter from Leslie Brown, Bishop of St. Edmundsbury, about bishops' need for reports on ordinands (f.60); letter from Derek Pattinson about the retirement of Cyril Bowles, Bishop of Derby, from ACCM and his replacement by John Eastaugh, Bishop of Hereford, with Archbishop Ramsey's agreement (ff.61-62); letter from Cuthbert Bardsley, Bishop of Coventry, to Geoffrey Tiarks, Bishop of Maidstone, about the failings of ACCM in selecting men for the auxiliary ministry, with reply (ff.63-66); letter from Maurice Wood, Bishop of Norwich, about the timing of selection conferences, regional ordination courses and the position of Oak Hill College (ff.68-69); correspondence between Ross Hook, Bishop of Bradford, and Bishop Tiarks about the inspection of theological colleges and note on the different business discussed at Bishops' Meetings and meetings of the House of Bishops (ff.70-72, 74); letter from Bishop Tiarks to Bishop Leslie Brown about circulating a reminder to Principals of theological colleges of the rules and conventions of the movement of curates (f.73); letter from Archbishop Ramsey to Canon Hugh Melinsky about the need to publicise improved figures for ordination candidates, with a note on the figures by Hugh Whitworth (ff.75-76); ACCM statistics for 1973 (ff.77-85).

Show related Persons records.

Related name records
GB/109/7615Church of England; General Synod: Advisory Council for the Church's Ministry; 1970-19911970-1991
271Brown; Leslie Wilfrid (1912-1999); Archbishop of Uganda1912-1999
486Pattinson; Sir; (William) Derek (1930-2006); Knight; Secretary-General of General Synod1930-2006
265Bowles; Cyril William Johnston (1916-1999); Bishop of Derby1916-1999
GB/109/8670Eastaugh; John Richard Gordon (1920-1990); Bishop of Hereford1920-1990
11Ramsey; (Arthur) Michael (1904-1988); Baron Ramsey of Canterbury; Archbishop of Canterbury1904-1988
DS/UK/3554Bardsley; Cuthbert Killick Norman (1907-1991); bishop of Coventry1907-1991
564Tiarks; Geoffrey Lewis (1909-1987); Suffragan Bishop of Maidstone1909-1987
GB/109/7418Wood; Maurice Arthur Ponsonby (1916-2007); Bishop of Norwich1916-2007
GB/109/9737Oak Hill College; 1932-; theological college1932-
GB/109/6615Hook; Ross Sydney (1917-1996); Bishop of Bradford1917-1996
GB/109/14263Melinsky; (Michael Arthur) Hugh (1924-2018); Chief Secretary, ACCM1924-2018
GB/109/11107Whitworth; Hugh Hope Aston (1914-1996); Lay Assistant to the Archbishop of Canterbury1914-1996
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2021