RepositoryLambeth Palace Library
Alt Ref NoRamsey 238, ff. 1-183
TitleReunion - Methodists: correspondence from members of the public
DescriptionCorrespondence between members of the public, including some clergy and Synod members, and Archbishop Ramsey about Anglican-Methodist reunion, with a substantial number of letters of sympathy following the negative vote in General Synod. Correspondents include: the Revd. Michael Marshall (ff.25-27); Br. John Charles SSF (f.30); the Revd. A.W. Cornah, enclosing a pamphlet by Methodist Dissentients (ff.36-42); George Goyder (ff.43-44, 103-104); Noel Salter (ff.46-47); Canon Paul Welsby (ff.50-51); the Revd. Kenneth L. Waights, President of the Methodist Conference (ff.52-53); the Revd. Andrew Blair CR (ff.54-55); Alan Clark, Bishop of Elmham (ff.56-57); Canon Charles Smith (ff.58-59); the Revd. John Huxtable (ff.64-65); the Revd. Arthur Macarthur (ff.66-67); William van Straubenzee MP (ff.68-69); Dr. Kenneth Greet (ff.70-71); Bishop Christopher Butler (ff.84-85); Leslie Brown, Bishop of St. Edmundsbury and Ipswich (ff.89-90); Gerald Ellison, Bishop of Chester (ff.93-94); Br. Jonathan SSF (ff.97-98); Gerald Tedcastle, Associate Minister of Wesley's Chapel (ff.105-106); Michael De-la-Noy (ff. 109-110); Revd. David Isitt, Secretary of the Cambridge Council of Churches (ff.111-112); the Revd. Bruce Kent (ff.113-114); Bishop Frank Thorne (ff.137-138); the Revd. Paul Oestreicher (ff.141-142); the Revd. Peter Cornwell (ff.154-155); Cuthbert Bardsley, Bishop of Coventry (ff.160-161); Lord Soper (ff.164-165); the Revd. Douglas Carter (ff.166-167); the Revd. Rupert Davies (ff.168-169); the Revd. Stanley Booth-Clibborn (ff.170-171); Stuart Blanch, Bishop of Liverpool (ff.172-173); Frank Woods, Archbishop of Melbourne (ff.176-177).

Show related Persons records.

Related name records
NA1263Methodist Church of Great Britain; 1932-1932-
GB/109/6605Church of England; General Synod; 1970-1970-
11Ramsey; (Arthur) Michael (1904-1988); Baron Ramsey of Canterbury; Archbishop of Canterbury1904-1988
438Marshall; Michael Eric (1936-); Suffragan Bishop of Woolwich1936-
577Vockler; John Charles (1924-2014); Bishop in Polynesia1924-2014
DS/UK/6135Goyder; George Armin (1908-1997); businessman, social philosopher and author1908-1997
GB/109/12723Salter; Noel (-1975); on the staff of the Commonwealth Secretariat-1975
590Welsby; Paul Antony (1920-2002); Canon of Rochester1920-2002
GB/109/11717Waights; Kenneth Laws (1909-1984); President of the Methodist Conference1909-1984
GB/109/12968Blair; Andrew Hamish (1901-1981); clergyman1901-1981
GB/109/11719Clark; Alan Charles (1919-); Roman Catholic Bishop of East Anglia1919-
GB/109/13934Smith; Charles David (1915-); Administrator of the Shrine, Walsingham1915-
390Huxtable; William John Fairchild (1912-1990); Congregationalist minister1912-1990
GB/109/9408Macarthur; Arthur Leitch (1913-); general secretary of the United Reformed Church1913-
DS/UK/3506Van Straubenzee; Sir; William Radcliffe (1924-1999); Knight; Conservative MP1924-1999
361Greet; Kenneth Gerald (1918-2014); Secretary of the Methodist Conference1918-2014
279Butler; Basil Christopher (1902-1986); Auxiliary Bishop of Westminster1902-1986
271Brown; Leslie Wilfrid (1912-1999); Archbishop of Uganda1912-1999
338Ellison; Gerald Alexander (1910-1992); Bishop of London1910-1992
DS/UK/3150De-la-Noy; Michael (1934-2002); author and journalist1934-2002
GB/109/8777Kent; Bruce (1929-); campaigner for nuclear disarmament1929-
DS/UK/5346Thorne; Frank Oswald (1892-1981); UMCA missionary and Bishop of Nyasaland1892-1981
GB/109/9881Oestreicher; Paul (1931-); Canon Residentiary of Coventry Cathedral1931-
GB/109/8106Cornwell; Peter Raphael (1934-); Vicar of Barnard Castle1934-
DS/UK/3554Bardsley; Cuthbert Killick Norman (1907-1991); bishop of Coventry1907-1991
DS/UK/6246Soper; Donald Oliver (1903-1998); Baron Soper; Methodist minister1903-1998
289Carter; Douglas (1916-1983); General Secretary of the Church Union1916-1983
312Davies; Rupert Eric (1909-1994); Warden of John Wesley's Chapel, Bristol1909-1994
GB/109/8039Booth-Clibborn; Stanley Eric Francis (1924-1996); Bishop of Manchester1924-1996
260Blanch; Lord; Stuart Yarworth (1918-1994); Baron of Bishopsthorpe; Archbishop of York1918-1994
DS/UK/5009Woods; Sir; Frank (1907-1992); Archbishop of Melbourne1907-1992
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2021