RepositoryLambeth Palace Library
Alt Ref NoRamsey 224, ff.118-194
TitleDoctrine Commission
DescriptionPapers relating to the Archishops' Commission on Christian Doctrine, including: membership (ff.118, 121-128, 130-139); letter from Ian Ramsey, Bishop of Durham, about membership of the Ecology Committee and need for an examination of the Pentecostalist movement, with Archbishop Ramsey's response (ff.119-120, 129); copies of correspondence between Ian Ramsey and Canon Ronald Jasper, with a covering letter to Archbishop Ramsey, about relations between the Doctrine and Liturgy Commissions and a copy of Ian Ramsey's note on prayer to the Holy Spirit (ff.140-154); commission's expenses (ff.155-159); appointment of Dennis Nineham, Warden of Keble, as temporary chairman of the Commission following Ian Ramsey's illness (ff.160-163); correspondence between David Sparrow, Geoffrey Tiarks, Bishop of Maidstone, Hugh Montefiore, Bishop of Kingston and Donald Coggan, Archbishop of York on publishing a paper on Man and his Environment by the Sub-Group on the Doctrine of Creation (ff.164-175); letter from Archbishop Ramsey to Canon Ronald Jasper outlining the relations between the Doctrine and Liturgy Commissions and advising him on consultation procedures (ff.176-178); letter from Hugh Montefiore, Bishop of Kingston, to Archbishop Ramsey about referring to the Commission the administration of the reserved sacrament to the sick, with response that this was inappropriate (ff.179-180, 183-184); correspondence between Dennis Nineham and Archbishop Ramsey about the work of the Commission (ff.181-182); appointment of Canon Maurice Wiles as temporary chairman of the Commission (ff.185-188); minutes (ff.189-193).

Show related Persons records.

Related name records
633Archbishops' Commission on Christian Doctrine; 1922-19731922-1973
11Ramsey; (Arthur) Michael (1904-1988); Baron Ramsey of Canterbury; Archbishop of Canterbury1904-1988
501Ramsey; Ian Thomas (1915-1972); Bishop of Durham1915-1972
DS/UK/3324Jasper; Ronald Claud Dudley (1917-1990); Dean of York1917-1990
GB/109/6601Nineham; Dennis Eric (1921-2016); Professor of Theology and Head of Theology Department, Bristol University, 1980–861921-2016
564Tiarks; Geoffrey Lewis (1909-1987); Suffragan Bishop of Maidstone1909-1987
452Montefiore; Hugh William (1920-2005); Bishop of Birmingham1920-2005
298Coggan; Frederick Donald (1909-2000); Baron Coggan; Archbishop of Canterbury1909-2000
GB/109/11725Wiles; Maurice Frank (1923-2005); theologian1923-2005
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2021