RepositoryLambeth Palace Library
Alt Ref NoRamsey 220, ff.1-68
TitleBroadcasting: general
DescriptionPapers relating to broadcasting, including: suggestion for a breakfast-time religious broadcast on television (ff.1-4); brief for Mark Hodson, Bishop of Hereford, for a debate in the House of Lords on a Broadcasting Council (ff.5-9); letter from Lord Aylestone to Archbishop Ramsey giving the Independent Television Authority's position on a Broadcasting Council with the Archbishop's response (ff.10-13); note about the de-restriction of television hours and the Closed Period on Sunday (f.14); extract from an address by Bernard Sendall on religious broadcasting (ff.15-20); letter from John Lang, BBC Head of Religious Broadcasting on the state of broadcast Christian Apologetics, with reply from Archbishop Ramsey and note from Hugh Whitworth (ff.21-24); suggestions of possible interviewees for a programme called "Children of the Manse" (ff.25-30; correspondence involving Robin Woods, Bishop of Worcester, Archbishop Ramsey, Hugh Whitworth, Bishop Geoffrey Tiarks, Dame Diana Reader Harris, Bishop Ian Ramsey, Canon W.E. Purcell, Sir John Hewitt, Sir Ronald Harris, Sir John Lawrence and Oliver Tomkins, Bishop of Bristol,about a possible successor to Lord Hill as Chairman of the BBC, with a list of candidates (ff.32-54, 57-64); note about Radio Blackburn's new religious programme "Crossfire" (f.65); note of the BBC's invitation to Robert Runcie, Bishop of St. Alban's to chair the Central Religious Advisory Committee (ff.66-68).

Show related Persons records.

Related name records
DS/UK/4857Hodson; Mark Allin (1907-1985); Bishop of Hereford1907-1985
11Ramsey; (Arthur) Michael (1904-1988); Baron Ramsey of Canterbury; Archbishop of Canterbury1904-1988
GB/109/12622Bowden; Herbert William (1905-1994); Baron Aylestone; Chairman, Independent Broadcasting Authority1905-1994
GB/109/6713Lang; John Harley (1927-2012); Dean of Lichfield1927-2012
GB/109/11107Whitworth; Hugh Hope Aston (1914-1996); Lay Assistant to the Archbishop of Canterbury1914-1996
610Woods; Robert Wylmer (1914-1997); Bishop of Worcester1914-1997
564Tiarks; Geoffrey Lewis (1909-1987); Suffragan Bishop of Maidstone1909-1987
GB/109/8667Harris; Sir; Ronald Montague Joseph (1913-1995); First Church Estates Commissioner1913-1995
GB/109/12623Reader Harris; Dame; (Muriel) Diana (1912-); Headmistress, Sherborne School for Girls1912-
501Ramsey; Ian Thomas (1915-1972); Bishop of Durham1915-1972
GB/109/6704Purcell; William Ernest (1909-1999); Canon of Worcester1909-1999
GB/109/8819Hewitt; Sir; John Francis (1910-1979); Knight; civil servant1910-1979
567Tomkins; Oliver Stratford (1908-1992); Bishop of Bristol1908-1992
GB/109/12624Hill; Charles (1904-1989); Baron Hill of Luton; Chairman of Governors of the BBC1904-1989
516Runcie; Robert Alexander Kennedy (1921-2000); Archbishop of Canterbury1921-2000
DS/UK/4311British Broadcasting Corporation
GB/109/9183Independent Television Authority; 1954-1954-
GB/109/12625Sendall; Bernard Charles (1913-); Deputy Director General, Independent Broadcasting Authority1913-
GB/109/12626British Broadcasting Corporation; Central Religious Advisory Committee
420Lawrence; Sir; John Waldemar (1907-1999); 6th Baronet; author and Anglican journalist1907-1999
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2022