RepositoryLambeth Palace Library
Alt Ref NoCoggan 29, ff.58-168
TitleChurch Commissioners
Date25 Feb-21 Dec 1976
DescriptionIncludes the letter of resignation from the Church Commissioners of Philip Shelbourne (f.58) and related correspondence, papers relating to the membership of the Commissioners after Mar 1976 (ff.63-7, 69-70, 75-77), to the increases in grants for particular purposes agreed in Apr 1976 (f.68), and to the Board of Governors Meeting on 20 May 1976 (ff.78-9), a letter from Sir Ronald Harris, First Estates Commissioner, regarding the membership of the Commissioners' Committees, and a copy of Archbishop Coggan's reply (ff.80-82), correspondence regarding Coggan's visit to the staff of the Commissioners on 11 Jun 1976 (ff.86-93), papers relating to the membership of the Committees before and after changes in Jul 1976, including correspondence with Paul Osmond, Secretary of the Church Commissioners, Rt Revd Eric Mercer, Bishop of Exeter, and Rt Revd Eric Treacy, Bishop of Wakefield, (ff.94-124, 128-130), papers relating to a popular leaflet produced by the Commissioners regarding their work (ff.125-7), new stipend levels (ff.131-4), allocation of funds for church buildings (ff.135-8), copies of correspondence between Humphrey Cranfield and Sir Ronald Harris regarding appointments to committees (ff.139-45), papers relating to the appointment of Lord Remnant and Canon Barfett as Church Commissioners (ff.146-53), a draft letter to the Times regarding the pamphlet 'The Gnomes of Millbank' (f.154), correspondence relating to the resignation of Rt Revd Hetley Price, Bishop of Ripon, from the Board of Governors and the Houses Committee and his successors (ff.155-161, 165-7), the resignation of Sir Michael Wilson from the Archbishop's Advisory Panel on Stock Exchange Investments (ff.162-4) and the rates of interest paid by the Commissioners (f.168).

Show related Persons records.

Related name records
DS/UK/3509Church Commissioners; 1948-1948-
GB/109/12731Shelbourne; Sir; Philip (1924-1993); Knight; barrister1924-1993
GB/109/8667Harris; Sir; Ronald Montague Joseph (1913-1995); First Church Estates Commissioner1913-1995
GB/109/14023Osmond; Sir; (Stanley) Paul (1917-2000); Secretary to the Church Commissioners1917-2000
GB/109/14016Mercer; Eric Arthur John (1917-2003); Bishop of Exeter1917-2003
568Treacy; Eric (1907-1978); Bishop of Wakefield1907-1978
GB/109/12704Cranfield; Humphrey Stafford (1917-); member of the House of Laity, General Synod1917-
GB/109/12937Barfett; Thomas (1916-2000); clergyman1916-2000
GB/109/6709Price; Stuart Hetley (1922-1977); bishop of Ripon1922-1977
GB/109/12600Wilson; Sir; Michael Thomond (1911-1983); Knight; banker1911-1983
GB/109/17622Remnant; Sir; James Wogan (1930-); Church Commissioner1930-
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2021