RepositoryLambeth Palace Library
Alt Ref NoCoggan 190
TitleCorrespondence providing information about the Call to the Nation
DescriptionIncludes internal memoranda regarding the Call, papers relating to meetings of the Ad Hoc Group on Evangelism and the Evangelism Executive Committee, correspondence relating to media coverage and the launch of the Call, to a letter from the Archbishops to be read in churches on 19 Oct 1975, to the 'October event', to the response card published in newspapers and to Days of Prayer. Correspondents include the Rt Revd Cuthbert Bardsley, Bishop of Coventry (ff.1-2), Revd Canon J G Hunter (ff.4, 6, 18, 26, 128-129, 134, 136-137, 161, 191), Richard Wood MP (ff.5, 7-11, 16), the Most Revd Richard Wimbush, Primus of the Scottish Episcopal Church (ff.45-46, 78, 150), Harry Morton, General Secretary of the BCC (ff.47-48, 156, 158), Cardinal Heenan, Archbishop of Westminster (ff.49-50), the Most Revd Stuart Blanch, Archbishop of York (ff.51-52, 72), the Revd John Poulton (ff.53-60, 79-81, 85-92), the Rt Revd John Habgood, Bishop of Durham (ff.64-66, 124-126, 139-140), the Rt Revd Maurice Wood, Bishop of Norwich (ff.107, 127), the Rt Revd Mervyn Stockwood, Bishop of Southwark (ff.112, 138), the Rt Revd Gerald Ellison, Bishop of London (f.123), the Rt Revd James Matheson (ff.131-132, 145), the Rt Revd Kenneth Skelton, Bishop of Lichfield (ff.141, 159-160), the Rt Hon Jeremy Thorpe MP (f.184), the Rt Hon Margaret Thatcher MP (f.185), and the Rt Hon Harold Wilson MP (f.186).

Show related Persons records.

Related name records
DS/UK/3554Bardsley; Cuthbert Killick Norman (1907-1991); bishop of Coventry1907-1991
GB/109/12606Hunter; John Gaunt (fl.1949-1972); Canon of Liverpool Cathedralfl.1949-1972
605Wimbush; Richard Knyvet (1909-1994); Bishop of Argyll and the Isles1909-1994
GB/109/11518Morton; Harry Osborne (1925-1988); President of the Methodist Conference1925-1988
GB/109/8230Heenan; John Carmel (1905-1975); Cardinal Archbishop of Westminster1905-1975
260Blanch; Lord; Stuart Yarworth (1918-1994); Baron of Bishopsthorpe; Archbishop of York1918-1994
GB/109/10753Poulton; John Frederick (1925-1987); clergyman1925-1987
GB/109/7418Wood; Maurice Arthur Ponsonby (1916-2007); Bishop of Norwich1916-2007
550Stockwood; Arthur Mervyn (1913-1995); Bishop of Southwark1913-1995
338Ellison; Gerald Alexander (1910-1992); Bishop of London1910-1992
DS/UK/4968Skelton; Kenneth John Fraser (1918-2003); Bishop of Lichfield1918-2003
GB/109/10922Thorpe; John Jeremy (1929-2014); Liberal Party Leader1929-2014
GB/109/14014Thatcher; Margaret Hilda (1925-2013); Baroness; Prime Minister of the United Kingdom (1979-1990)1925-2013
DS/UK/3444Wilson; (James) Harold (1916-1995); Baron Wilson of Rievaulx; Prime Minister1916-1995
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2022