Authorized Form of NameEngland; Council of the North; 1484-1641
Corporate NameCouncil of the North
DatesAndPlacesThe Council of the North was an administrative body set up by King Richard III of England in 1484 to improve government control and economic prosperity over Northern England. It was originally based at Sheriff Hutton and Sandal Castle.
Richard was the first post-Norman King of England to legislate and conduct government in the English language, possibly because his experience among his subjects whilst at Middleham Castle had created a mutual respect between them. Die hard Yorkists did not forget this when Perkin Warbeck and Lambert Simnel appeared. This local loyalty did not save Richard from desertion, when the Earl of Richmond rose against him. (Coincidentally, Richmond Castle had seniority over Middleham Castle!)
Following the suppression of the Pilgrimage of Grace, Henry VIII reorganised the council. He placed it under Henry Fitzroy, 1st Duke of Richmond and Somerset with its seat at York. It met the lodgings of St. Mary's Abbey, York in the centre of that city; after the dissolution of the abbey the building was retained by the king who formally allocated it to the Council. The building is nowadays called King's Manor. It was abolished by the Long Parliament in 1641, because it was the chief support for Catholic Recusants and Anglicans. After the English Restoration, the Secretary of State for the Northern Department was formed and influenced industry.

Presidents of the Council of the North were as follows:
Cuthbert Tunstall, Bishop of Durham 1530–1533
Henry Percy, 6th Earl of Northumberland 1533–1536
Thomas Howard, 3rd Duke of Norfolk, 1536–1537
Cuthbert Tunstall, Bishop of Durham 1537–1538
Robert Holgate, Bishop of Llandaff 1538–1540
Francis Talbot, 5th Earl of Shrewsbury, 1549–1560
Henry Manners, 2nd Earl of Rutland, 1561–1563
Ambrose Dudley, 3rd Earl of Warwick, 1564
Thomas Young, Archbishop of York, 1564–1568
Thomas Radcliffe, 3rd Earl of Sussex, 1568–1572
Henry Hastings, 3rd Earl of Huntingdon, 1572–1595
Matthew Hutton, Bishop of Durham & Archbishop of York, 1596–1599
Thomas Cecil, Lord Burghley 1599–1603
Edmund Sheffield, 3rd Baron Sheffield 1603–1619
Emanuel Scrope, 1st Earl of Sunderland 1619–1628
Thomas Wentworth, Earl of Strafford 1628–1641

Show related Catalog records.

related catalogue records
MS 704Shrewsbury Papers1328-1613MSS/694-710/704
MS 710Shrewsbury Papers1556-1679MSS/694-710/710
MS 3205Talbot Papers1506-1612MSS/3192-3206/3205
MS 707Shrewsbury Papers1453-1666MSS/694-710/707
MS 698Shrewsbury Papers1539-1599MSS/694-710/698
MS 3196Talbot Papers1558-1570MSS/3192-3206/3196
MS 708Shrewsbury Papers1582-1638MSS/694-710/708
MS 696Shrewsbury Papers1549-1559MSS/694-710/696
MS 666THOMAS MURRAY PAPERSEarly 17th centuryMSS/666
MS 3201Talbot Papers1589-1605MSS/3192-3206/3201
MS 695Shrewsbury Papers1471-1598MSS/694-710/695
MS 3200Talbot Papers1583-1600MSS/3192-3206/3200
MS 3193Talbot Papers1544-1558MSS/3192-3206/3193
MS 709Shrewsbury Papers1284-1643MSS/694-710/709
MS 3194Talbot Papers1550-1557MSS/3192-3206/3194
MS 3192Talbot Papers1334-1557MSS/3192-3206/3192
MS 3195Talbot Papers1557-1558MSS/3192-3206/3195
MS 3198Talbot Papers1550-1590MSS/3192-3206/3198
MS 3206Talbot Papers1499-1580MSS/3192-3206/3206
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2021