RepositoryLambeth Palace Library
Alt Ref NoW.Temple 9, ff. 254-409
Date20 Nov 1942-30 Sep 1943
DescriptionPapers relating to the reorganisation of the Council, the proposed appointment of Eric Symes Abbott as a new Deputy Chaplain-General, and the appointment of Leslie Owen, Suffragan Bishop of Jarrow, as chairman of the Council and Suffragan Bishop of Maidstone with special responsibility for the spiritual work of Service chaplains. Correspondents include: Archbishop Temple (passim); Frederic Sumpter Guy Warman, Bishop of Manchester (ff. 256, 277, 304, 324, 330, 385, 389, 404); Clifford Salisbury Woodward, Bishop of Bristol (ff. 258-9, 298, 302, 357); Cyril Forster Garbett, Archbishop of York (ff. 262, 284, 293, 323); John Victor Macmillan, Bishop of Guildford (ff. 263-5, 352); William Wilson Cash, Bishop of Worcester (f. 266); Noel Baring Hudson, Bishop of Newcastle (ff. 269-70); Sir Percy James Grigg, Secretary of State for War (ff. 272, 278-81, 288-90, 296-7, 305, 331, 342-3, 399-400); John Oldcastle Cobham, Principal of The Queen's College, Birmingham (f. 273); Charles William Gray Taylor, Moderator of the General Assembly of the Church of Scotland (f. 309); Roy Drummond Whitehorn, Moderator of the Free Church Federal Council (ff. 310, 322, 325); Alwyn Terrell Petre Williams, Bishop of Durham (ff. 311, 317-18, 356, 380-1, 392, 407-8); Richard Downey, Archbishop of Liverpool (f. 312); James Dey, Catholic Ordinary to H.M. Forces (f. 321); William J. Sym, Convener of the Church of Scotland Committee on Chaplains to H.M. Forces (ff. 333, 336-7); Guy Harden Guillum Scott, Joint-Secretary of the Church Assembly (ff. 335, 354); Christopher Maude Chavasse, Bishop of Rochester (f. 347); Cyril Eastaugh (f. 348); Leslie Gravatt Fisher (f. 349); Robert Birley, Headmaster of the Charterhouse (f. 350); Harry William Blackburne, Dean of Bristol (f. 351); Leslie Owen, Suffragan Bishop of Jarrow (ff. 353, 384); James William Welch, Director of Religious Broadcasting at the B.B.C. (f. 355); Frank Russell Barry, Bishop of Southwell (f. 358); Stephen Frederick Burstal Bedale, Director-General of the Society of the Sacred Mission (f. 359); William Derrick Lindsay Greer, General Secretary of the Student Christian Movement (f. 360); Mervyn George Haigh, Bishop of Winchester (f. 361); Albert Edward Baker, Canon of York (f. 363); Sir Alan Francis Brooke, Chief of the Imperial General Staff (f. 365); Walter Robert Matthews, Dean of St. Paul's (f. 366); Sir Frederick Carl Bovenschen, Joint Permanent Under-Secretary of State for War (f. 367); John Macleod Campbell, Secretary of the Church Assembly Missionary Council (f. 371); James Edward Hubert Gascoyne-Cecil, 4th Marquess of Salisbury (ff. 372, 379); Charles Robert Grey, 5th Earl Grey (ff. 378, 397); Charles Douglas Symons, Chaplain-General to the Forces (ff. 388, 393); and Sir Henry Vaughan Markham, Permanent Secretary of the Admiralty (f. 401).

Show related Persons records.

Related name records
DS/UK/5656Church of England; Church Assembly: Central Advisory Council of Training for the Ministry; 1924-19591924-1959
DS/UK/5811Warman; Frederic Sumpter Guy (-1953); Bishop of Manchester-1953
DS/UK/5565Woodward; Clifford Salisbury (1878-1959); Bishop of Gloucester1878-1959
78Garbett; Cyril Forster (1875-1955); Archbishop of York1875-1955
DS/UK/3498Macmillan; John Victor (1877-1956); Bishop of Guildford1877-1956
DS/UK/3655Cash; William Wilson (1880-1955); bishop of Worcester1880-1955
DS/UK/3172Hudson; Noel Baring (1893-1970); Bishop of Ely1893-1970
GB/109/13815Grigg; Sir; Percy James (1890-1964); Secretary of State for War1890-1964
GB/109/8475Cobham; John Oldcastle (1899-1987); Archdeacon of Durham1899-1987
GB/109/13819Taylor; Charles William Gray (1879-1950); Moderator of the General Assembly of the Church of Scotland1879-1950
GB/109/11707Whitehorn; Roy Drummond (1891-1976); Moderator, Free Church Federal Council1891-1976
88Williams; Alwyn Terrell Petre (1888-1968); Bishop of Winchester1888-1968
328Downey; Richard (1881-1953); Roman Catholic Archbishop of Liverpool1881-1953
GB/109/13820Dey; James (1869-1946); Bishop of Sebastopolis1869-1946
529Scott; Guy Harden Guillum (1874-1960); barrister, Joint-Secretary Church Assembly1874-1960
106Chavasse; Christopher Maude (1884-1962); Bishop of Rochester1884-1962
DS/UK/3175Easthaugh; Cyril (1897-1988); Bishop of Peterborough1897-1988
GB/109/6694Fisher; Leslie Gravatt (1906-1988); Archdeacon of Chester1906-1988
DS/UK/5916Birley; Sir; Robert (1903-1982); Knight; educationalist1903-1982
DS/UK/4307Blackburne; Harry William (1878-1963); Dean of Bristol1878-1963
DS/UK/5803Owen; Leslie (1886-1947); Bishop of Lincoln1886-1947
DS/UK/6129Welch; James William (1900-1967); Professor of Religious Studies and Vice-Principal, Ibadan University College, Nigeria1900-1967
DS/UK/3561Barry; (Frank) Russell (1890-1976); bishop of Southwell1890-1976
GB/109/13822Bedale; Stephen Frederick Burstal (1888-1961); Director-General of the Society of the Sacred Mission1888-1961
DS/UK/3925Greer; William Derrick Lindsay (1902-1972); Bishop of Manchester1902-1972
89Haigh; Mervyn George (1887-1962); Bishop of Winchester1887-1962
GB/109/13666Baker; Albert Edward (fl. 1905-1947); Canon of Yorkfl. 1905-1947
GB/109/13823Brooke; Sir; Alan Francis (1883-1963); 1st Viscount Alanbrooke; Field-Marshal1883-1963
DS/UK/4427Matthews; Walter Robert (1881-1973); Dean of St. Paul's1881-1973
GB/109/13824Bovenschen; Sir; Frederick Carl (-1977); statesman-1977
DS/UK/3642Campbell; John Macleod (fl. 1937-1961); secretary of the Church Assembly Missionary Councilfl. 1937-1961
NA2408Gascoyne-Cecil; Lord; James Edward Hubert (1861-1947); 4th Marquess of Salisbury1861-1947
363Grey; Lord; Charles Robert (1879-1963); 5th Earl Grey1879-1963
GB/109/13826Symons; Charles Douglas (1885-1949); Chaplain-General to the Forces1885-1949
GB/109/13827Markham; Sir; Henry Vaughan (1897-1946); Permanent Secretary of the Admiralty1897-1946
DS/UK/3439Abbott; Eric Symes (1906-1983); Dean of Westminster1906-1983
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2022