RepositoryLambeth Palace Library
Alt Ref NoW.Temple 56
Extent457 ff.
TitleWAR 1939-45
Date8 May 1942-1 Sep 1944
DescriptionPapers concerning arrangements for special days of prayer, including texts of broadcasts, forms of service, and correspondence from: Henry Martyn Gooch, General Secretary of the World's Evangelical Alliance (ff. 1, 11-13, 303, 328, 427); James William Welch, Director of Religious Broadcasting at the B.B.C. (ff. 7-8, 55, 108, 192, 404, 408, 423); William Kemp Lowther Clarke, Editorial Secretary of the S.P.C.K. (passim); Joseph Herman Hertz, Chief Rabbi of the United Hebrew Congregations of the British Empire (ff. 14, 416); Arthur Hinsley, Cardinal Archbishop of Westminster (ff. 23, 152, 161); William Wilson Cash, Bishop of Worcester (ff. 24, 31, 50-3, 105-7); Charles William Gray Taylor, Moderator of the Church of Scotland General Assembly (ff. 25, 28-9, 144, 154, 188); Alexander Henry Louis Hardinge, Private Secretary to King George VI (ff. 40-1, 160, 170, 179, 186); William Parry Blore, Canterbury Cathedral Librarian (f. 98); Sir Humphrey Sumner Milford, Publisher to the University of Oxford (ff. 109, 111-12, 131-2, 138-9, 151); Wallace Harold Elliott, Chaplain to King George VI (f. 126); Almeric Hugh Paget, 1st Baron Queenborough (ff. 145, 153, 162, 168); John Seldon Whale, Moderator of the Free Church Federal Council (ff. 155-6, 180); David Mathew, Bishop Auxiliary of Westminster (f. 182); Cyril Forster Garbett, Archbishop of York (ff. 187, 307, 332, 341); Anthony Bevir, private secretary to Prime Minister Winston Churchill (f. 193); Herbert Pike Pease, 1st Baron Daryngton (ff. 172, 215); Herbert Stanley Morrison, Home Secretary (ff. 224, 228, 236, 239, 255, 274, 319, 409); Sir Alan Frederick Lascelles, Private Secretary to King George VI (passim), including a draft text of a broadcast to be made by the king (ff. 395-7); Henry St. George Tucker, Presiding Bishop of P.E.C.U.S.A. (ff. 243-4, 265); Roy Drummond Whitehorn, Moderator of the Free Church Federal Council (f. 249); Hugh Martin, Director of the Religious Division of the Ministry of Information (ff. 264, 270); Frederic Athelwold Iremonger, Dean of Lichfield (ff. 294-301); Bernard William Griffin, Archbishop of Westminster (ff. 312, 329, 340, 388-9, 414); John Baillie, Moderator of the Church of Scotland General Assembly (ff. 318, 335, 387); Vice-Admiral Sidney Robert Drury-Lowe (f. 330); Robert M'Gowan Barrington-Ward, editor of The Times (f. 348); General Bernard Law Montgomery (ff. 349-50, 361, 386); Leslie Owen, Suffragan Bishop of Maidstone (f. 353); Joseph Paton Maclay, 1st Baron Maclay, and others of the Scottish Evangelistic Council (f. 357); George Leonard Prestige, Editor of The Church Times (f. 364); Victor Alexander George Robert Lytton, 2nd Earl of Lytton (ff. 370, 384, 391); Henry Townsend, Moderator of the Free Church Federal Council (ff. 390, 421); Eric Milner-White, Dean of York (f. 400, 417-19, 424-6); Edward J. Hagan, Moderator of the Church of Scotland General Assembly (f. 420); and William Henry Smith, 3rd Viscount Hambleden (ff. 428-9). Also includes a copy of 'The Soul of England: What England Needs To-Day', by Edward Arthur Burroughs, late Bishop of Ripon (ff. 2-5).
PublnNoteJohn Wolffe, "Sacred and Secular Martyrdom in Britain and Ireland since 1914", (Bloomsbury, 2020). [Lambeth Palace Library D1607.W65]

Show related Persons records.

Related name records
GB/109/14269Gooch; Henry Martyn (1874-1957); General Secretary of the World's Evangelical Alliance1874-1957
DS/UK/3628Burroughs; Edward Arthur (1882-1934); bishop of Ripon1882-1934
DS/UK/6129Welch; James William (1900-1967); Professor of Religious Studies and Vice-Principal, Ibadan University College, Nigeria1900-1967
GB/109/13733Clarke; William Kemp Lowther (1879-1968); Canon of Chichester1879-1968
DS/UK/6382Hertz; Joseph Herman (1872-1946); Chief Rabbi1872-1946
DS/UK/4681Hinsley; Arthur (1865-1943); Cardinal; Archbishop of Westminster1865-1943
DS/UK/3655Cash; William Wilson (1880-1955); bishop of Worcester1880-1955
GB/109/13819Taylor; Charles William Gray (1879-1950); Moderator of the General Assembly of the Church of Scotland1879-1950
DS/UK/5871Hardinge; Alexander Henry Louis (1894-1960); 2nd Baron Hardinge1894-1960
GB/109/14514Blore; William Parry (1875-1948); Canterbury Cathedral Librarian and antiquary1875-1948
GB/109/14455Milford; Sir; Humphrey Sumner (1877-1952); Publisher1877-1952
GB/109/14515Elliott; Wallace Harold (-1957); clergyman-1957
DS/UK/6104Whale; John Seldon (1896-1997); United Reformed church minister and theologian1896-1997
GB/109/6771Mathew; David (1902-1975); Archbishop of Apamea1902-1975
78Garbett; Cyril Forster (1875-1955); Archbishop of York1875-1955
DS/UK/5915Bevir; Sir; Anthony (1895-1977); Secretary to the Prime Minister1895-1977
GB/109/14204Pease; Lord; Herbert Pike (1867-1949); 1st Baron Daryngton; Third Estates Commissioner; Treasurer of Queen Anne's Bounty1867-1949
DS/UK/6118Morrison; Herbert Stanley (1888-1965); Baron Morrison of Lambeth; politician1888-1965
GB/109/13829Lascelles; Sir; Alan Frederick (1887-1981); Private Secretary to King George VI1887-1981
DS/UK/5497Tucker; Henry St. George (fl. 1938-1946); Bishop of Virginiafl. 1938-1946
GB/109/11707Whitehorn; Roy Drummond (1891-1976); Moderator, Free Church Federal Council1891-1976
439Martin; Hugh (1890-1964); Hon. Secretary to Friends of Reunion1890-1964
DS/UK/3817Iremonger; Frederic Athelwold (1878-1952); Dean of Lichfield1878-1952
DS/UK/3836Griffin; Bernard William (1899-1956); Cardinal; Archbishop of Westminster1899-1956
GB/109/8007Baillie; John (1886-1960); theologian1886-1960
247Barrington-Ward; Robert M'Gowan (1891-1948); editor of The Times1891-1948
DS/UK/5760Montgomery; Bernard Law (1887-1976); 1st Viscount Montgomery; Field Marshal1887-1976
DS/UK/5803Owen; Leslie (1886-1947); Bishop of Lincoln1886-1947
497Prestige; George Leonard (1889-1955); Canon of St Paul's Cathedral1889-1955
GB/109/14242Lytton; Victor Alexander George Robert (1876-1947); 2nd Earl of Lytton1876-1947
NA2758George VI (1895-1952); King of Great Britain and Ireland1895-1952
DS/UK/4552Milner-White; Eric Milner (1884-1963); dean of York1884-1963
GB/109/14524Hagan; Edward J. (1879-1956); Scottish Presbyterian clergyman1879-1956
GB/109/14312Townsend; Henry (-1955); Moderator of the Free Church Federal Council-1955
GB/109/14525Smith; William Henry (1903-1948); 3rd Viscount Hambleden1903-1948
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2022