RepositoryLambeth Palace Library
Alt Ref NoW.Temple 53
Extent385 ff.
TitleWAR 1939-45
Date1 Feb-20 Dec 1944
DescriptionPapers relating to the recruitment and supervision of chaplains to the Armed Services, including material on chaplaincy work among prisoners of war. Correspondents include: Geoffrey Charles Lester Lunt, Bishop of Ripon (f. 1); Geoffrey Francis Fisher, Bishop of London (ff. 3, 28, 30, 69, 342); John Macleod Campbell, Secretary of the Church Assembly Missionary Council (f. 4); Charles Douglas Symons, Chaplain-General to the Forces (ff. 5, 54-6, 62, 127, 180); James Grove White Tuckey, Canon of Ripon (ff. 7, 129, 164, 188, 356); Sir Frederick Carl Bovenschen, Joint Permanent Under-Secretary of State for War (passim); William Wilson Cash, Bishop of Worcester (f. 12); Thomas Grigg-Smith (f. 15); Leslie Owen, Suffragan Bishop of Maidstone (passim); Edward Sydney Woods, Bishop of Lichfield (passim); John Victor Macmillan, Bishop of Guildford (f. 46); Kenneth Escott Kirk, Bishop of Oxford (ff. 48, 163); Archibald Henry Macdonald Sinclair, Secretary of State for Air (ff. 63-4, 154); John Baillie, Moderator of the Church of Scotland General Assembly (f. 70); Foss Westcott, Bishop of Calcutta and Metropolitan of India, Burma and Ceylon (ff. 87-90, 113-17); Edward Francis Paget, Bishop of Southern Rhodesia (f. 128); John Arthur Jagoe, Chaplain-in-Chief (passim); Cyril Forster Garbett, Archbishop of York (ff. 146, 373-7); Ernest Cyril Gepp, Director of Prisoners of War (ff. 153, 167, 261, 311); John Norman Bateman-Champain, Suffragan Bishop of Knaresborough (f. 161); Henry Thomas Alexander Dashwood, Principal Registrar of the Province of Canterbury (f. 162); George Kennedy Allen Bell, Bishop of Chichester (f. 168); Alfred Vincent Hurley, Canon of Salisbury (f. 201); Ernest Neville Lovett, Bishop of Salisbury (ff. 207, 215, 236); John Cecil Latter, Deputy Adjutant General, Middle East Forces (ff. 221-4); Sir Alan Frederick Lascelles, Private Secretary to King George VI (ff. 225, 230); Air Marshal Sir Bertine Entwisle Sutton (ff. 250, 315); James Raitt Brown, Secretary of the Ecclesiastical Commission (ff. 251-2); Christopher Maude Chavasse, Bishop of Rochester (f. 260); Guy Vernon Smith, Bishop of Leicester (f. 276); William Louis Anderson, Bishop of Portsmouth (f. 304, 367-8); Sir Oliver William Hargreaves Leese (ff. 295-6, 337); Alfred Carey Wollaston Rose, Suffragan Bishop of Dover (ff. 378-9); and the Community of the Resurrection (ff. 382-8).

Show related Persons records.

Related name records
DS/UK/5746Lunt; Geoffrey Charles Lester (-1948); Bishop of Salisbury-1948
12Fisher; Geoffrey Francis (1887-1972); Archbishop of Canterbury1887-1972
DS/UK/3642Campbell; John Macleod (fl. 1937-1961); secretary of the Church Assembly Missionary Councilfl. 1937-1961
GB/109/14431Tuckey; James Grove White (1864-1947); Canon of Ripon1864-1947
GB/109/13824Bovenschen; Sir; Frederick Carl (-1977); statesman-1977
DS/UK/3655Cash; William Wilson (1880-1955); bishop of Worcester1880-1955
GB/109/13807Smith; Thomas Grigg- (-1971); Canon of Portsmouth-1971
DS/UK/5803Owen; Leslie (1886-1947); Bishop of Lincoln1886-1947
DS/UK/5564Woods; Edward Sydney (1877-1953); Bishop of Lichfield1877-1953
DS/UK/3498Macmillan; John Victor (1877-1956); Bishop of Guildford1877-1956
DS/UK/3497Kirk; Kenneth Escott (1886-1954); Bishop of Oxford1886-1954
GB/109/14426Sinclair; Archibald Henry Macdonald (1890-1970); 1st Viscount Thurso; politician1890-1970
GB/109/8007Baillie; John (1886-1960); theologian1886-1960
DS/UK/5571Westcott; Foss (1863-1949); Bishop of Calcutta1863-1949
DS/UK/5168Paget; Edward Francis (1886-1971); archbishop of Central Africa1886-1971
DS/UK/6441Jagoe; John Arthur (1889-1962); Bishop of Bermuda1889-1962
78Garbett; Cyril Forster (1875-1955); Archbishop of York1875-1955
GB/109/14235Champain; John Norman Bateman- (1880-1950); Suffragan Bishop of Knaresborough1880-1950
308Dashwood; Sir; Henry Thomas Alexander (1878-1959); Knight; Principal Registrar of the Province of Canterbury1878-1959
135Bell; George Kennedy Allen (1883-1958); Bishop of Chichester1883-1958
GB/109/14447Hurley; Alfred Vincent (1896-1986); Archdeacon of Dudley1896-1986
DS/UK/4902Lovett; Ernest Neville (1869-1951); Bishop of Salisbury1869-1951
GB/109/13829Lascelles; Sir; Alan Frederick (1887-1981); Private Secretary to King George VI1887-1981
GB/109/14448Sutton; Sir; Bertine Entwisle (1886-1946); Air Marshal1886-1946
270Brown; Sir; James Raitt (1892-1979); Knight; Third Church Estates Commissioners1892-1979
106Chavasse; Christopher Maude (1884-1962); Bishop of Rochester1884-1962
DS/UK/5433Smith; Guy Vernon (1880-1957); Bishop of Leicester1880-1957
DS/UK/4134Anderson; William Louis (1892-1972); Bishop of Salisbury1892-1972
GB/109/9044Leese; Sir; Oliver William Hargreaves (1894-1978); 3rd Baronet; Lieutenant General1894-1978
DS/UK/3833Rose; Alfred Carey Wollaston (-1971); Suffragan Bishop of Dover-1971
DS/UK/6086Community of the Resurrection
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2022