RepositoryLambeth Palace Library
Alt Ref NoRamsey 231, ff.61-171
TitleLiturgical Revision: general
DescriptionPapers relating to liturgical reform and the work of the Liturgical Commission of the General Synod, including: membership (ff.61-92); correspondence between Archbishop Ramsey and Canon Jasper about their dissatisfaction with the Prayer of Thanksgiving in the Series 3 Communion Service, 'silent reconsecration' and the problem of the anamnesis (ff.93, 96-98, 109-110, 113, 118, 121-125, 134-135); correspondence with Roger Beckwith (ff.94-95); Sir John Scott's wish for a bishop on the Liturgical Steering Committee of General Synod (f.99-100); correspondence from the Revd. Derek Allen about improvements to Series 3 (ff.103, 117); draft, final and amended final versions of Archbishop Ramsey's paper on the Series 3 rite on behalf of the House of Bishops (ff.105-108, 127-132, 138-140); letter from Gervase Duffield on aspects of Series 3 and on Anglican-Methodist union with Archbishop Ramsey's response (ff.111-112); memorandum from the Revd. David Frost on the Lord's Prayer, with Archbishop Ramsey's comments (ff.114-116, 120); non-cooperation of the Church Union with Series 3 (f.133); letter from Donald Coggan, Archbishop of York on the proposed panel of Old Testament experts (f. 145); correspondence about final approval of Series 3 Holy Communion and publication of an authorised edition (ff.147, 151-153); correspondence between Archbishop Ramsey and Canon Jasper about the Series 3 Burial Service (ff.149-150, 169, 171); discussion of who would move the report 'Prayer and the Departed' after the death of Ian Ramsey, Bishop of Durham (ff.154-162); correspondence between Professor Norman Anderson and Archbishop Ramsey about 'Prayer and the Departed' enclosing a copy of a letter from J. Eaves Tinsley (ff.163-167); Douglas Harrison's membership of the Joint Liturgical Group (ff.168, 170).

Show related Persons records.

Related name records
DS/UK/3686Church of England; Liturgical Commission; 1954-19701954-1970
GB/109/6605Church of England; General Synod; 1970-1970-
11Ramsey; (Arthur) Michael (1904-1988); Baron Ramsey of Canterbury; Archbishop of Canterbury1904-1988
DS/UK/3324Jasper; Ronald Claud Dudley (1917-1990); Dean of York1917-1990
GB/109/13770Beckwith; Roger Thomas (1929-); Warden, Latimer House1929-
530Scott; Sir; John Arthur Guillum (1910-1983); Knight; Secretary-General of General Synod1910-1983
GB/109/13771Allen; Derek William (1925-1991); Principal, St. Stephen's House, Oxford1925-1991
331Duffield; Gervase Elwes (1935-); publisher and theological writer1935-
158Church Union; 1934-1934-
298Coggan; Frederick Donald (1909-2000); Baron Coggan; Archbishop of Canterbury1909-2000
501Ramsey; Ian Thomas (1915-1972); Bishop of Durham1915-1972
231Anderson; Sir; James Norman Dalrymple (1908-1996); Knight; Professor of Oriental Laws1908-1996
GB/109/7847Harrison; Douglas Ernest William (1903-1974); Dean of Bristol1903-1974
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2021