RepositoryLambeth Palace Library
Alt Ref NoMS 4096-4133
Extent38 files
TitleFurse, Charles Wellington (1821-1900)
AdminHistoryElder son of Charles William and Theresa Johnson of Great Torrington, Devon.
Went up to Balliol College, Oxford in 1839 and was ordained deacon in 1848 and priest in 1849. He assumed the surname of Furse in 1854 on his succession to property in Devon. After serving as lecturer at St. George's Chapel, Windsor, and in curacies at Clewer (Berks.), Dolton (Devon), Egham (Surrey) and St. Pancras (London), he was vicar of Staines (Middx.), 1863-73. Principal of Cuddesdon College, 1873-1883. The college faced a motion of censure in the Oxford Diocesan Conference in 1878 inspired by C.P. Golightly. On his retirement from Cuddesdon in 1883 Furse became rector of St John the Evangelist, Westminster and canon of Westminster, being appointed archdeacon of Westminster in 1894.
Married Jennie [Jane] Diana Monsell (d.1877) in 1859 and Gertrude Louisa Barnett c.1879.

Cuddesdon College, of which Furse became principal in 1873, faced a motion of censure in the Oxford Diocesan Conference in 1878 inspired by C.P. Golightly, and the collection includes letters from H.P. Liddon, who resigned as vice-principal of Cuddesdon in 1859 following similar attacks by Golightly.

Publications of interest:
Cuddesdon College. A Report for the five years ending Trinity Term, 1878 by the Rev. C.W. Furse (1878);
The Founding of Cuddesdon ... by O. Chadwick (1954);
Cuddesdon College 1854-1929. A record and a memorial (1930);
Stand Therefore! by Michael Furse (1953);
Chuch Portrait Journal, new series vol. 2, 1881, pp. 77-80.
AcquisitionPresented by Mr Patrick Furse in 1996.
RelatedMaterialTransferred to the Department of Printed Books:
A National Church: a sermon preached in Westminster Abbey by C.W. Furse, 1898.

For C W Furse, see also Lambeth Palace Library Jackson papers.

Show related Persons records.

Related name records
863Furse; Charles Wellington (1821-1900); Archdeacon of Westminster1821-1900
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2022