RepositoryLambeth Palace Library
Alt Ref NoMS 2946
Extent356 ff.
DescriptionRecords and Personal Impressions of forty-eight meetings of a cell in the Church of England, sometimes referred to as the First Cell, founded by the Revd. Reginald Somerset Ward for the benefit of young clergy.
In addition to Ward himself, the original members were James Lumsden Barkway, Suffragan Bishop of Bedford, and subsequently (1938) Bishop of St. Andrews, Dunkeld, and Dunblane, Edmund Robert Morgan, Vicar of Old Alresford, and subsequently (1951) Bishop of Truro, and Leslie Owen, subsequently (1946) Bishop of Lincoln.
As vacancies occurred the following members were elected : Eric Symes Abbott, Dean of Westminster (1959); John Norman Bateman-Champain, Suffragan Bishop of Knaresborough (1938); Benedick James Hobart de la Mare, Vicar of Heaton (1973); Edward Michael Gresford Jones, Bishop of St. Albans (1950); Mark Allin Hodson, Bishop of Hereford (1961); George Christopher Cutts Pepys, Suffragan Bishop of Buckingham (1964); Robert Alexander Kennedy Runcie, Bishop of St. Albans (1970); the Revd. Mark Santer, Principal of Westcott House, Cambridge (1973); Adrian Denys Somerset Ward, Vicar of Blackmoor.
Also included are an account of a cell of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel at Catherington in the diocese of Winchester, 29-30 July 1937 (ff. 329-32), and accounts of three discussion parties held at Ravenscroft in the diocese of Chester on the problems of recently ordained priests, 1937-8 (ff. 333-56).
AcquisitionGiven by Mark Allin Hodson, former Bishop of Hereford, in 1977. For more information see LR/L/12 f. 272.

Show related Persons records.

Related name records
DS/UK/3439Abbott; Eric Symes (1906-1983); Dean of Westminster1906-1983
120Barkway; James Lumsden (1878-1968); Bishop of Bedford1878-1968
GB/109/14235Champain; John Norman Bateman- (1880-1950); Suffragan Bishop of Knaresborough1880-1950
DS/UK/4857Hodson; Mark Allin (1907-1985); Bishop of Hereford1907-1985
DS/UK/5796Jones; Edward Michael Gresford (1901-1982); Bishop of St. Albans1901-1982
456Morgan; Edmund Robert (1888-1979); Bishop of Truro1888-1979
DS/UK/5803Owen; Leslie (1886-1947); Bishop of Lincoln1886-1947
GB/109/11702Pepys; George Christopher Cutts (1914-1974); Bishop Suffragan of Buckingham1914-1974
516Runcie; Robert Alexander Kennedy (1921-2000); Archbishop of Canterbury1921-2000
GB/109/14225Santer; Mark (1936-); Bishop of Birmingham1936-
226Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts; 1701-19651701-1965
584Ward; Reginald Somerset (1881-1962); Spiritual director1881-1962
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2022