RepositoryLambeth Palace Library
Alt Ref NoCoggan 67, ff.43-147
TitleEvangelism, Archbishop's Council for (ACE)
Date1 Mar-12 Dec 1978
DescriptionIncludes a letter from Prof R J Berry, resigning from ACE and a copy of Archbishop Coggan's reply (ff.43-4); correspondence and papers from Revd John Poulton, Executive Secretary of ACE, relating for example to ACE finances, a Working Party to plan ACE's future, ACE by-laws and the winding up of ACE; a letter to Archbishop Coggan from Rt Revd John Neale, Bishop of Ramsbury on behalf of Diocesan Missioners (ff.56, 67, 73); minutes of meetings of the ACE Executive Committee and Council; correspondence with Revd Michael Saward (ff.82-3, 88), Rt Revd Denis Wakeling, Bishop of Southwell (ff.85-7, 95-7, 99) and Most Revd Stuart Blanch, Archbishop of York (ff.92, 100, 121); papers relating to a press release from the Archbishops regarding the future of ACE (ff.117-127, 130), including correspondence with Rt Revd David Brown, Bishop of Guildford (ff.117, 119), a letter sent to all diocesan bishops (ff.122-3), and replies from Rt Revd Victor Whitsey, Bishop of Chester (f.130), Rt Revd Graham Leonard, Bishop of Truro (f.131) and Rt Revd Gerald Ellison, Bishop of London (f.132); and papers relating to an appeal to diocesan bishops by Lord Nugent to raise funds for ACE including correspondence with Rt Revd George Reindorp, Bishop of Salisbury (f.137), Bishop Whitsey (f.143), and Rt Revd Cyril Bowles, Bishop of Derby (ff.145-7).

Show related Persons records.

Related name records
GB/109/8166Archbishops' Council on Evangelism
GB/109/10753Poulton; John Frederick (1925-1987); clergyman1925-1987
GB/109/9570Neale; John Robert Geoffrey (1926-2020); suffragan bishop of Ramsbury1926-2020
GB/109/12638Saward; Michael John (1932-2015); priest; Radio and TV Officer, Church Information Office1932-2015
GB/109/8167Wakeling; John Denis (1918-2004); bishop of Southwell1918-2004
260Blanch; Lord; Stuart Yarworth (1918-1994); Baron of Bishopsthorpe; Archbishop of York1918-1994
GB/109/14021Brown; David Alan (1922-1982); Bishop of Guildford1922-1982
GB/109/8241Whitsey; Hubert Victor (1916-1987); Bishop of Chester1916-1987
423Leonard; Graham Douglas (1921-2010); Bishop of London1921-2010
338Ellison; Gerald Alexander (1910-1992); Bishop of London1910-1992
GB/109/14637Nugent; George Richard Hodges (1907-1994); Baron Nugent of Guildford; Conservative politician1907-1994
DS/UK/4942Reindorp; George Edmund (1911-1990); Bishop of Salisbury1911-1990
265Bowles; Cyril William Johnston (1916-1999); Bishop of Derby1916-1999
GB/109/19497Berry; Robert James (1934-); Member of General Synod1934-
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2021