RepositoryLambeth Palace Library
Alt Ref NoACDB
Extent1 file
TitleArchbishop's Commission on the Organisation of the Church by Dioceses in London and the South East of England
AccrualsNone expected
AdminHistoryThe Commission was established in January 1965 by Michael Ramsey, Archbishop of Canterbury, in agreement with the other diocesan bishops. Their terms of reference were "to recommend, in the light of present conditions and of plans which may reasonably be expected to be carried out for development of the South-East and its component areas, what is likely to be the best organisation of the Church by diocese."

The main Commission considered the dioceses which made up Greater London and was chaired by Sir Humphrey Mynors. Two Sub-Commissions were established considering Chichester, Guildford, Portsmouth and Winchester, chaired by Sir Humphrey Mynors and Oxford and adjacent areas, chaired by Sir William Lawson. The secretary to the Commission was Mr K A L Argent with Mr T M Robinson as an assistant.
CustodialHistoryThese records were created by the commission but there are no records for who deposited them at the Church of England Record Centre, or when this happened. They were either depositted in two batches as ACDB/1 was grouped with other Archbishops' Commissions to form the artificial fonds CERC: AC. These catalogue entries were migrated from the records management sytem in September 2012 and the records moved to Lambeth Palace Library when the two institutions combined in 2021. ACDB/2-5 were transfered to CERC in August 1994 and were grouped into accession record C-2019-85 to track their location for the move to the new library.
RelatedMaterialCA 1679
GS Report: CA 1653, Diocesan Boundaries
ROP: 1967 (595-630, 787-804); 1968 (198-233)

Show related Persons records.

Related name records
641Archbishop of Canterbury's Commission on the Organisation of the Church by Dioceses in London and the South-East of England; 1965-19671965-1967
GB/109/11520Mynors; Sir; Humphrey Charles Baskerville (1903-1989); Deputy Governor of the Bank of England1903-1989
11Ramsey; (Arthur) Michael (1904-1988); Baron Ramsey of Canterbury; Archbishop of Canterbury1904-1988
GB/109/24946Lawson; William (1899-1971); Sir1899-1971
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2022